4 A-State Volleyball Players Receive Honors

Dec 9, 2015

4 players from the A-State Volleyball team have received honors from the American Volleyball Coaches Association.

On Tuesday, the AVCA placed Carlisa May, Markie Schaedig, Mallory Warrington, and Darby Graff on the Southwest All-Region Team.

May was also named Freshman of the Year for the Southwest Region.  According to a press release, she is the first A-State player to achieve the honor in school history and is the only freshman to earn a spot on the All-Region Team.

Head Coach David Rehr received Coach of the Year from the AVCA.  Rehr is the first coach in the school’s history to receive the honor.

Under his leadership, the Red Wolves earned its first Top-25 ranking in the AVCA and had the nation’s longest winning streak of 24 matches entering the NCAA Tournament.