webBanner_6-1440x90 - gradient overlay (need black logo).png
Your Connection to Music, News, Arts and Views for Over 60 Years
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Baxter, Craighead County properties on the National Register of Historic Places


Unique, new listings range from a missile launch site to a historic golf course.

LITTLE ROCK — The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program announced the listing of 15 properties in eight counties to the National Register of Historic Places.

“I was captivated reading this latest round of National Register nominations,” said Stacy Hurst, Secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism as well as the state historic preservation officer. “From a Cold War Intercontinental Ballistic Missile launch site to historic bridges and even a golf course, this group of new listings really showcases the historic diversity in our state which we are proud to help document and preserve.”

The properties nominated and accepted for listing to the National Register by county are:


· Galatia Church, Norfolk vicinity


· Shaw-Blair House, Lowell


· Bridge Street Bridge, Jonesboro (Historic Bridges of Arkansas MPS)

· Fuller-Shannon House, Jonesboro

· Citizens Bank Building, Jonesboro


· Titan II ICBM Launch Complex Site 373-9, Vilonia (Cold War Resources Associated with the 308th Strategic Missile Wing in Arkansas MPS)


· Prescott & Northwestern Railroad Caboose No. 3, Prescott


· Presbyterian Village, Little Rock

· Little Rock Fire Station No. 9, Little Rock

· Fair Park Golf Course, Little Rock


· Snowball Gymnasium, Snowball


· Vernon & Moore-McIlroy Produce Warehouse, Fayetteville

· Hindman Hall Museum, Prairie Grove

· Woolsey Farmstead Cemetery, Fayetteville

· Elm Springs Cemetery, Elm Springs

“It is truly a privilege for our team to assist people through the process of listing a property,” said Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Scott Kaufman. “Being included on the National Register of Historic Places is an honor and provides locations with eligibility to apply for certain grants and tax credit programs.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places, including the qualifications, visit www.arkansaspreservation.com/Historic-Properties/National-Register/national-register-of-historic-places.

The State Review Board is made up of Acting Chair Bob Kempkes along with Dr. Rodney Harris, Carl Miller Jr., Kelsey Bardwell, Rachel Golden, Andrew Beaupre, Joe Cole and Anne Speed. Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism Secretary Stacy Hurst serves as the state’s historic preservation officer. The next meeting is scheduled for 9 a.m. Wednesday, Dec. 2, at Arkansas Heritage at 1100 North St. in Little Rock.. A virtual option will be available closer to the event date. For more information about the National Register, please contact Ralph Wilcox, National Register and survey coordinator, at 501-324-9880. Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) is an agency of Arkansas Heritage. AHPP is responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism.