© 2024 KASU
Your Connection to Music, News, Arts and Views for 65 Years
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Here is where you can find news about Jonesboro, Craighead County, and Arkansas at large, as well as news for Missouri and Tennessee.[ Read our Mission Statement ]

Four artists to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2023 Arkansas Country Music Awards

Glen Campbell
Courtesy of the artist
Glen Campbell received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Arkansas Country Music Awards in 2018. Four more recipients were announced on Arkansas Roots who will receive the award at the June 5, 2023 ceremony.

Each year, the Arkansas County Music Awards recognize Arkansans who've made significant contributions to country music with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Charles Haymes, vice president of the Arkansas Country Music Awards, speaks to Arkansas Roots' Marty Scarbrough to reveal the four honorees who will receive the award in 2023. The ceremony is scheduled for June 5.

Past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award included Johnny Cash, The Wilburn Brothers, Conway Twitty, and Levon Helm.

Marty Scarbrough has worked at KASU since 1992, and he serves as program director, overseeing the station’s content. Marty is a graduate of Murray State University in Murray, Kentucky, and he has produced and hosted programs of classical music, jazz, bluegrass, and blues music. He also oversees KASU’s Bluegrass Monday concert series. When not at work, Marty loves spending time with his wife and his three sons, and he enjoys attending concerts of many different styles of music.
A Northeast Arkansas native from Wynne, I’ve been involved with radio for about 15 years. I got my Bachelor of Arts degree from Henderson State University in Arkadelphia, where I also served as an award-winning News Director for 2 years at KSWH-LP.