© 2021 KASU
webBanner_6-1440x90 - gradient overlay (need black logo).png
Your Connection to Music, News, Arts and Views for Over 60 Years
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Replacements elected for vacant Missouri legislative seats

Missouri Capitol

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) - Republican House Majority Leader Mike Cierpiot has been elected to the Missouri Senate.

Cierpiot (SEER'-poy) won a special election Tuesday to fill former Sen. Will Kraus' vacant seat. The Lee's Summit Republican resigned in July after the governor appointed him to the State Tax Commission.

Cierpiot defeated Democrat Hillary Shields and independent Jacob Turk to win the Kansas City-area seat. He vastly overspent his opponents, dropping more than $400,000 according to the latest spending records. He had help from the Republican Missouri Senate Campaign Committee and the Missouri Alliance for Freedom.

Voters also chose Democrat Barbara Washington to replace former Democratic Rep. Randy Dunn in representing part of Kansas City. Republican Herman Morse was elected to fill a southeast Missouri seat vacated by former Republican Rep. Tila Hubrecht.